Posted on

Death and Brownies

One of my mother’s dearest friends recently lost her husband  to a very aggressive form of cancer. I had the opportunity to meet him and am saddened that he is no longer with us. Grief in my opinion, is the worst kind of emotion. It is painful, it is frustrating, it is ugly. I have sadly lost a few people in my life, but cannot imagine the pain she must be feeling.

She is one of the kindest, strongest, and most generous people I have had the pleasure to meet and was happy/nervous to find out she was coming to have dinner at my parents house. She is the type of woman who bakes dozens of cookies for you for the holidays, makes beautiful jewelry, and has not a single bad bone in her body.

I have to be real and admit that I have not baked for pleasure in a very long time. Baking at home after 8-10 hours of doing it for a living is the last thing I want to do. But as soon as I found out she was coming over, my first instinct was: brownies. This is one of the few ways I know how to express my emotions, whether it’s for dealing with the death of a loved one or the birth of a baby. Baking is how I share my love, and tonight, she needs all the love she can get. I decided to bake the brownies out of my favorite baking book, Baking Illustrated, and was surprised at how much better it made me feel. I hope that she will enjoy these brownies as much as I enjoyed making them.

Image

Leave a Reply

