Posted on

Chocolate-Sunflower Shortbread Cookies

Ok, so now that I have had my come-to Jesus moment with home baking, I am ready to start having some fun! This week I helped out a family friend with a Seed Freedom Awareness Lecture,I was asked to bring some baked treats for the working group meeting and decided what better to bring than something with seeds! I had some sunflower seeds lying around and decided to make some chocolate shortbread cookies with the toasted seeds.

I discovered the wonders of shortbread about 2 years ago when my chef at the time asked me to make her a batch of pistachio shortbread. I’ve had shortbread before, but never any that was worth writing home about. The recipe she gave me though, was so incredibly mouth-watering that I became a devout shortbread fan. What I love about shortbread is that you can really play around with flavors and textures. You can add nuts, fruits, seeds, chocolate, the list goes on. It also doesn’t contain any eggs, so the dough has a pretty long shelf life and actually freezes quite beautifully. I adapted her recipe for the cookies that I brought on Monday, by omitting the pistachio paste and nuts, and instead added  Valrhona Cocoa Powder, and of course the toasted sunflower seeds. Feel free to play around with this dough by adding whatever you are in the mood for!

Chocolate-Sunflower Shortbread Cookies:

210 grams flour

40 grams good quality cocoa powder

240  grams butter, very soft

4 grams sea salt

60 grams toasted sunflower seeds

75 grams powdered sugar

-In a standing mixer, cream the butter and the powdered sugar until just combined. Add flour, cocoa powder, salt, and seeds. Mix until just combined.

-Remove from mixer, cut 2 large squares of parchment paper. Using your hands divide the dough into two equal parts. Roll the dough into 2  uniform logs. Place the logs onto the parchment paper and carefully, but tightly, roll up the dough into the parchment. Refrigerate for twenty minutes. Preheat oven to 330 degrees farenheit.

-Remove dough from refrigerator. Cut uniform discs, and place onto baking tray. Bake for about 15 minutes or until they are firm to the touch. Chocolate dough can be tricky so this is a good way to practice telling doneness by touch and sight! Make sure your oven is accurate and you keep a close eye on the cookies.

Leave a Reply

